Dolphin Awards and Fellowships

Apereo Dolphin Fellows

Fellowships recognize exceptional service and contributions by individuals to the Apereo open source community. From development to project management to other acts of service and support, Apereo Fellows make important contributions to the projects within the foundation. The fellowship award is intended to support ongoing work in Apereo communities. 

Further details about the Apereo Dolphin Fellows eligibility, monetary dispensation, and listing of past winners. 

2023 Winners

2022 Winners

2021 Winners

Apereo Dolphin Awards

Teaching and Learning

These awards recognize innovation in teaching and learning using open source software, promoting excellent pedagogy, sharing new practices in teaching, and encouraging more faculty involvement in software evolution.

Past Teaching and Learning Winners

Enterprise Solutions

This award seeks to recognize academic institutions, project teams, or others in developing, deploying, and/or implementing open source software that supports the operation of higher education.

Innovation, Advocacy, and Networking, i.e., "The IAN"

This special honor recognizes an individual champion or leader, although this award can also go to an organization. The recipient of this award promotes, propels, and transforms open source initiatives to meet the diverse and evolving needs of higher education.

Awards eligibility, monetary dispensation. 

2023 Winners

2022 WInners


The Apereo Awards would not be possible without the time, effort, and passion of our Apereo community members. We want to thank Anthony Whyte for his many years of service to the Apereo Fellows program and prior Apereo and Sakai Fellows for their Apereo Fellows committee service. We want to thank the many members of the Apereo Teaching and Learning Committee for their dedication to evaluating Apereo Teaching and Learning Awards (ATLAS) applications and promoting teaching and learning success throughout our member institutions, with special recognition to ATLAS Leadership over the years.

History of ATLAS Awards

History of TWSI Awards